Since 1969
Your Unified Network for Community Theatres

The mission of OCTA is “To Promote Excellence in Community Theatre“. Its goals are:

  • To unite and support all community theatres, organizations and participants, in Oklahoma; and to further connect them with other community theatres in the region and nation.
  • To foster communication and dissemination of ideas among OCTA members and other theatre participants in Oklahoma
  • To encourage high standards of excellence in community theatre production and management
  • To celebrate and promote the achievements of community theatre in Oklahoma 

     OCTA was the first statewide association of community theatres to be incorporated in the United States (1970). OCTA was founded with assistance from 14 theatre groups (13 of which are still actively producing plays each season). Founding theatres were located in Ardmore, Bartlesville, Claremore, Clinton, Duncan, Elk City, Enid, Lawton, Miami, Oklahoma City, Ponca City, Stillwater, Tahlequah, Tulsa, and Woodward. Founding individuals involved in establishing the organization were Bill Crawford (Lawton), Jeanne Adams Wray (Stillwater), Curt Schwartz (Oklahoma City), and Lil Williams (Ardmore).

     OCTA is governed by an elected Board of Directors and an appointed Advisory Council. The OCTA Executive Committee has been the ‘acting’ Executive Director since 2006.

     In its role of supporting theatre arts at the state, regional and national levels, O.C.T.A. is an active member of the American Association of Community Theatres.

OCTA was the 2014 Recipient Special Recognition Governor’s Arts Award AND the 2015 National Distinguished Merit Award by AACT.