THE HONORED THEATRE RECOGNITION (established 2011) Oklahoma was the first state to establish a state community theatre association.  Oklahoma Community Theatre Association was a leading force not only within the state, but at Regional and National level from 1970 through 1990.  In 1922, two ladies from Tulsa started the first community theatre west of the Mississippi River.  In 1926, a lady in Bartlesville started the second community theatre in Oklahoma. 

This is not a nominated award. Some of the oldest Oklahoma Theatres will be recognized.

This certificate will be presented to the honored theatre(s) by the Awards Committee.

Honored Theatre Recipients


Miami Little Theatre (1960)

Gaslight Theatre, Enid (1960) 


Ardmore Little Theatre (1955)

Ponca Playhouse   (1959)


Jewel Box Theatre, OKC (1956)

Town and Gown Theatre, Stillwater (1951)  


Lawton Community Theatre (1952)

Duncan Little Theatre (1953)


Tulsa Spotlight Theatre (1923)


Theatre Tulsa (1921)


Theater Bartlesville (formerly Bartlesville Theatre Guild, originally the Little Theatre Guild of Bartlesville 1926)