CHARLES HAIR OCTA  VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR (established 2011)  This award was introduced by the Awards Committee in memory of one of the most dedicated OCTA volunteers.   He was an advocate for Theatre Tulsa and Actors Theatre by hosting festivals and talked Oklahoma Community Theatre where he went, particularly at the National and International levels.   

This award is to recognize individuals who have provided years of volunteer service to an OCTA member theatre.  These individuals may have been founders or early patrons of their theatre.  Their leadership has been compelling to the growth of their theatre.

This award honors the late Charles Hair of Tulsa and Okemah.

The award may be presented any year.

Charles Hair Volunteer of the Year Past Recipients


Charlet Ringwald, Gaslight Theatre


Tomara Armstrong, Elk City


LoisDawn Jones, Duncan Little Theatre

Tami Lawson, Shawnee Little Theatre


Gina Flesher, Duncan Little Theatre

Scott Lewis, Broken Arrow Community Playhouse 


Jana Hester, Jewel Box Theatre, OKC

Bill Balcer, Town & Gown Theatre, Stillwater

Dr. Craig Clifford, Tahlequah Community Playhouse


Sue Moore, Town and Gown Theatre, Stillwater


Carl Clark, Ardmore Little Theatre


Tiphani Currell, Red Carpet Community Theatre, Elk City


Judy Crawford, Duncan Little Theatre

Vickie Myrick, Theatre Tulsa