JEANNE ADAMS WRAY SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD (established 1988) is given to those selected people who are not working directly with community theatre in Oklahoma, but have or are making contributions to its progress. It is dedicated to the forethought and stamina of Mrs. Jeane Adams Wray to get our great state organization formed and her continued efforts until it has become one of the best state theatre organizations in the U.S.  She also brought OCTA national recognition before more other state groups were organized.  She was active in University, National and International associations. She insisted however that there be recognition for the quality theatre productions in the Oklahoma communities.  She developed a series of correspondence courses at Penn State University on ‘how to start a communtiy theatre’ and ‘how to organize a state association.’  Through her influence, the first International Theatre Conference outside of Europe was convened in Oklahoma City in 1975.  Mrs. Wray always was seen wearing a hat!!

This award is to be given in odd years.

Jeanne Adams Wray Special Recognition Award Past Recipients


Tom Sanders, Grove


Darrelyn Hoffman, Oklahoma City

Scott Richard Klein, Lawton


Oklahoma Arts Council (OAC)


Cliff Hudson, Sonic Industries


Phillip Blender, Bartlesville


State Sen. Penny Williams, Tulsa

Joe Freeman, Oklahoma City


Mark Houston, Oklahoma City writer / composer / director (deceased)


Dr. Nat Eek, University of Oklahoma, Norman

Dr. Claude Kezer, SWOSU

Dr. Molly Risso, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Duran (deceased)

Dr. Nancy Vunovich, University of Tulsa


Dr. Jerry Davis, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater

Dr. Lee Hicks, Central State University, Edmond

Mona Poehling, OCTA

Betty Price, State Arts Council of Oklahoma