Theatres and individuals involved in community theatre have traditionally taken a leadership role in the arts in Oklahoma. Since the inception of the Governor’s Arts Awards in 1975, the following community theatres have been recognized and honored at the annual ceremonies:

  • Oklahoma Community Theatre Association, (Special Recognition Governor’s Award 2014)
  • Cynthia Kent, (Community Service Award, Governor’s Arts 2014)
  • Chuck Tweed, OKC (Governor’s Award 2013)
  • Thamazin Harrison, Alva (Community Service Award 2013)
  • Center for the Physically Limited (Center Stage Players), Tulsa(Community Service Award 1993)
  • Jewel Box Theater, Oklahoma City (Special Recognition 1986)
  • Lawton Community Theater (Community Service Award 1997)
  • Lyric Theatre of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City (Special Recognition 1987)
  • Oklahoma Children’s Theater, Oklahoma City (Community Service Awards 1979)
  • Theatre Tulsa (Special Recognition 1980-81)
  • Good Times Community (Arts in Education 2009)
  • Lyn Adams (Arts in Education 1992)
  • Jeanne Adams Wray (Governor’s Award 1975)
  • Pat Snider, Shawnee (Community Service Award 2011)
  • Sharon Burum, Duncan (Community Service Award 2010)
  • Gina Flesher, Duncan (Community Service Award 2009)
  • Maybelle Wallace, Tulsa (Community Service Award 2005)
  • Jack Liggett, Bartlesville (Community Service Award 1989)
  • Jimmy Vaughn, OKC (Community Service Award 1986)
  • Lil Williams, Ardmore (Community Service Award 1977)

In addition, individuals involved in community theatre as volunteers, patrons and community leaders, educators, and managers have received a total of twelve (14) of the prestigious Governor’s Arts Awards, and an additional twenty-three (23) have received special recognition awards.

Over the years, OCTA Members and Oklahoma individuals have been celebrated and honored by the American Association of Community Theatre (AACT).

Some Awards include:

  • AACT Fellows
  • Art Cole Lifetime of Leadership
  • David C. Bryant Outstanding Service
  • Distinguished Merit
  • Robert E. Grad Superior Volunteer
  • Shining Star
  • Twink Lynch Organizational Achievement

To see those winners and more click HERE!